skip to Main Content

Providing the two-year institutional leadership perspective.

Click the tabs below to find out more about our Community College Advisory Board. 

Dr. John Edward Roueche
President, Roueche Graduate Center, National American University

roueche web headshotDr. Roueche is president of the Roueche Graduate Center, National American University. Previously, he served as the Sid W. Richardson Regents Chair and as professor and director of the Community College Leadership Program at The University of Texas at Austin from 1971-2012.

Dr. Roueche is a graduate of Mitchell Community College (1958) and received his PhD in higher education administration from Florida State University in 1964. He has served as a high school history and English teacher, community college dean of students and instructional dean, and faculty member at UCLA and Duke University.

Dr. Roueche has received extensive national recognition for his research, teaching, service, and overall leadership, including the 2012 Lifetime Leadership Achievement Award from the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) and the 2012 Diverse Champion Award from the publishers and editors of Diverse Issues in Higher Education, for his lifetime support and contributions to increased diversity in American community colleges. He was also honored in 2012 by the AACC Board of Directors, who named their national leadership initiative in his honor. His other awards are too numerous to be cited individually.

Since 1970, Dr. Roueche has spoken to more than 1,300 colleges and universities on topics of teaching and leadership excellence. He is the author of 37 books and more than 175 articles and chapters focused on leadership, teaching, and learning. He has served as Principal Investigator for more than $40 million in projects funded by major American foundations during his years of service at the University of Texas.

Dr. Jerry Sue Thornton
CEO, Dream Catcher Educational Consulting & President Emeritus, Cuyahoga Community College

thornton web headshotDr. Thornton is best known for her leadership of and service to Cuyahoga Community College (Tri-C), where she served as President from 1992 to 2013. She received her Bachelors and Masters degrees from Murray State University, and earned her Ph.D. in Educational Administration from The University of Texas.

During her tenure at Tri-C, she was responsible for overseeing the educational experiences of 60,000 individuals a year, across four campuses, one university center, and three workforce training facilities. In her 21 years as President, Tri-C saw marked growth in student enrollment, facilities, academic offerings and workforce training opportunities.

Prior to her leadership at Tri-C, she served as President of Lakewood Community College, now known as Century College in White Bear Lake, Minnesota, and as the Dean of Arts and Sciences at Triton College in River Grove, Illinois.

Currently, she serves as President Emeritus of Cuyahoga Community College and the CEO of Dream Catcher Educational Consulting, which provides consulting services in the areas of higher education leadership, coaching and mentoring, talent development, job performance, and resource development.

Dr. Terry O’Banion

President Emeritus and Senior League Fellow, League for Innovation in Community Colleges | Chair of Graduate Faculty, National American University

OBanion web headshotDr. O’Banion was President of the League for Innovation in the Community College for 23 years until his retirement. Under his leadership the League became an international organization serving over 700 colleges recognized by Change magazine as “the most dynamic organization in the community college world.”

In honor of his decades of service to education, five national awards have been established in his name: the Terry O’Banion Student Technology Award created by Microsoft; the Terry O’Banion Prize for Teaching and Learning created by Educational Testing Service; the Terry O’Banion Shared Journey Award created by the National Council on Student Development; the O’Banion Leadership Scholarship created by Walden University; and the John Roueche and Terry O’Banion International Leadership Award created by the League for Innovation.

Dr. O’Banion has consulted in more than 800 community colleges in the United States and Canada. He has keynoted conferences around the world and is the author of 15 books and over 190 monographs, chapters, and articles on the community college.

Dr. O’Banion has served as a dean of students at Central Florida Community College, founding dean at Santa Fe Community College (FL), and vice chancellor for education for the Dallas County Community College District.

He has been a Professor of Higher Education at the University of Illinois; Distinguished Visiting Professor at The University of Texas; Visiting Professor at Berkeley, Florida State, Hawaii, and Toronto; the Marie Y. Roberts Endowed Professor of Higher Education at the University of North Texas; and a Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence at Antioch University McGregor School of Management.

Back To Top